lace knitting books ….my faves

I’ll always be grateful to Lyndsay for introducing me to Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby. A romantic at heart, it was the irresistible combination of Victorian lace history, breathtaking knitted lace designs and stunning photography that wooed me.

.

I discovered Wrapped in Lace while browsing the net.  A master of knitted lace, designer Margaret Stove (a fellow New Zealander) shares her spectacular designs in this exquisite book – makes me so proud to be a Kiwi 🙂 I’m besotted by more than a couple of scarf designs for my amethyst Filautra Di Crosa yarn.

.

Equally enticing is Knits from the North Sea, a collection of exquisite lace projects in the Shetland tradition. I couldn’t go passed the Very Easy Guide to Lace Knitting either, oodles of lovely stitch patterns and project ideas.

.

Ania is simply adorable in her new hat! I love the flower and the contrast trim – makes it! The soft blue was Ania’s colour choice and I chose the yarn, Sirdar Snuggly Snowflake ChunkySirdar pattern 1884 – a quick knit, I made it in a day.

Simone’s neck warmer in Touch Yarns 14 ply Mt Pisa Chunky 100% Merino. The herring bone stitch was a first for Simone, the vibrant colour and interesting textured stitch looks great – super cosy.

.

Simone’s WIP shrug take 2, this one for her sister. Wendy has almost finished her jersey which has texture detailing on the upper sections. This beautifully crafted garment is in a sumptuous DK denim blue possum/merino/alpaca mix yarn from Skeinz.

.

Fits like a glove! Raewyn made this 4 ply glove  in between a couple of rows of her shawl, very clever is she! The glove is superb, notice the edging rows around the cuff, cables and V detail and a perfect fit to boot. Perfection on 5!

Raeywn’s The Little Mermaid shawl (The Unique Sheep KAL) is almost finished, the  outer border remaining to be worked following the chevron stitch section – watch this space!

Karen brought along pics this week of her FO man size aran jersey made to order project. Such a shame I don’t have the pics to show you, the garment was shipped to it’s new owner who I’m sure will be very pleased. Knit in possum yarn it will be toasty as.

Lyndsay continues work on a shawl for a friend. I’m having a break from my leaf square blanket (grandbaby due October) and working on a Victoria Vest for myself. I purchased the yarn last winter and keen to get it done before the winter sets in. It’s basically a rectangle shape with a couple of openings for armholes and a lacey section one end, worked sideways. Pattern and yarn from The Rare Yarns Company – yarn cerise Astrakhan, Rare Essentials.

You are welcome to join us…….you can contact me via the contact tab for meeting details, we’re in Wellington 🙂

Leave a Reply

