love lace kniting

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simone’s lace shrug  – a speedy knit and striking worn over black.

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Far out in the ocean, where the water is as blue as the prettiest cornflower, and as clear as crystal, it is very, very deep…”  The Little Mermaid (Han Christian Andersen), KAL is a mystery lace knitting club from The Unique Sheep. Raewyn’s joined up and is well underway with her Little Mermaid knit in  gradiance colourway Mother of Pearl, very apt. The shawl’s centre ‘story’ shows the mermaid princesses tails and their sea father’s trident…..it’ll be fascinating to see how the design for the rest of the tale will be worked.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lindsay’s finished blue shawl, beautiful! The blue didn’t take the flash well so I enhanced the closeup shot to highlight the pattern.

All this lace talk and work has got the better of me, somewhere amongst all the other projects lined up this year I’ll be working a piece for myself, my journey has begun……………..

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wendy’s finished sleeveless vest (minus the button), DK yarn from Skeinz, and Fiona’s almost completed DK shrug. Fiona’s project is her first ever garment project, previously she’s worked on accessories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My latest FO shawl collar jersey for my grandbaby Raz! It’s gorgeously cosy and will keep him toasty & warm in the depths of winter which is a few months away (I hope). I made the bigger size, a tad too roomy for him now, should work out about right when it’s needed. I love everything about this knit – the texture, flecked yarn, pattern and of course the collar (shawl collars are my fave) – Sirdar leaflet 1785.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simone worked on her hat crown in chunky. Charlotte continued with her vintage inspired cardy in 4 ply, Sublime – the Extra Fine Merino 4 ply Book.

If you want to join us I’d love to hear from you – contact me via the contact tab for the meeting details, we’re in Wellington 🙂

Leave a Reply

