the awesomeness and wonder of knitting lace

The beginnings of another shawl masterpiece by Raewyn. Every time Raewyn begins a shawl I become totally captivated by the beauty of these  timeless refined elegant beauties. Baby’s shawls I’ve made, now it’s time I made one for me, it’s just a matter of when….

 

Notice the nupps worked into a heart shape. Raewyn told us artisan knitters originally worked nupps so more yarn would be used, enabling the shawls to be sold for more. Clever thinking and very enterprising. The novelty of nupps may wear rather thin on a large  project and they can end up being a real pain. I still like them never-the-less.

Lindsay, 3/4 the way through finishing her lovely circular shawl, is in no hurry. Enjoying almost every moment of the process it will be completed over the next few weeks. The group chatted a lot about shawls, nupps and lace – naturally my latent desire to start one has resurfaced.

Inevitably I started browsing pattern books and came across 3 that particularly caught my imagination: Knitted Lace Of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions by Nancy Bush; Wrapped in Lace: Knitted Heirloom Designs from Around the World by Margaret Stove and Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby (Lindsay already has a copy, maybe I’ll get one of the others). Naturally, I instantly want them all and added each to my ever growing wishlist at The Book Depository.

 

 

Fiona brought her lacey cover-up along last week, Simone did the modelling. I think Fiona said she made it as a rectangular wrap and converted it to a top by sewing up the edges.

 

 

 

 

 

Fiona working on her shrug, yarn DK by Biggan Design (refer last week’s Post).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simone’s cotton bag starting to take shape.

 

 

 

 

 

Simone was pleased as punch with her purchases from Knitsch following a recent visit. Have a squiz at the website or better still stop by the shop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oranges & lemons (with a hint of chilly) is what I call this glorious ball of glowing awesomeness – 50g 4 ply merino seconds from Knitsch.

 

 

 

 

Simone is hoping she’ll have enough to make this lovely lacey shrug – fab!

I still haven’t taken any pics of my latest, a jersey for Raz. The front is well underway and I’m really looking forward to knitting the shawl collar. I’m really happy with the textured stitch too, it compliments the fleck yarn nicely. I’m pretty partial to flecky yarns….

 

iKnit is…..

If you enjoy knitting on your own you’ll love knitting in a group with other keen knitters – it’s so much fun sharing the experience…so don’t stay at home and knit alone, come and check us out, everyone is welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

