Patons Serenity bamboo/cotton

I picked up the lower edge of My Ming and worked a 1×1 rib band to increase the length. I’m pleased I decided to do so and no one would know it was an afterthought.

I used a circular needle and knit the band in the round – easy peasy with no seam or sewing up and a great finish to boot!

Charlotte’s using mohair to knit this lacey wrap/scarf .

I totally dislike photos mirroring the flash, unfortunately all the pics of Fran’s WIP child’s jersey got blasted. Love the green, Fran’s working the stripes in cream.Ania fits my latest FO perfectly albeit the sleeves are a fraction long but that’s growing length. The integrity of this King Cole acrylic yarn has considerable give so this cardy should see Ani through the summer and beyond.

I had to post this pic of my beautiful grandbaby Raziel (Raz), he’s wearing the textured 4ply cardy I made before his birth. I’ve made this pattern a couple of times and I’m sure to use it again, it’s a delightful style – Sirdar book 280 Early Arrivals.

Lyndsay made a pattern diversion with her picot edge cardy and worked the yoke in the round. Hopefully she’ll bring it finished to show the group next time, check back for a pic.

Kirsty worked on a the beginnings of a cardy for herself from yarn picked up on a recent visit to The Wool Company. Taking advantage of the sale, Kirsty purchased new additions for her stash, colours in red, creamteal, and the fabulous ming blue.

WIP updates: Wendy continued working the texture of her jersey; Raewyn worked on her lacey circular shawl, and Karen worked on a couple of her several WIP’s.

I started a new project this week, Sirdar pattern 9152. I bought the pattern online from the UK as currently unavailable in NZ. I was looking for a bolero and the frilly shawl collar and lower edge of this little number had me as soon as I saw it. I think it’s absolutely fabulous!

Sirdar Juicy DK bamboo/cotton 80/20 isn’t available here either so I chose Patons Serenity bamboo/cotton  50/50 mix. This yarn comes in a delicious palate of colours and predictably I went for raspberry – new shade  0011. It’s the first time I’ve used a cotton blend yarn and so far I’m impressed. The handle is gorgeous, sort of silky which I guess is the bamboo component. I’ve no idea how it will launder, I hope it doesn’t wash into a limp rag.

iKnit is…..

If you enjoy knitting on your own you’ll love knitting in a group with other keen knitters – it’s so much fun and inspiring sharing the experience…so don’t stay at home and knit alone, come and join the fun!

iKnit meets in Lyall Bay, Wellington (see Contact tab for more details)

Leave a Reply

