my Thorobred comes home!

It’s spring in New Zealand – yay 🙂

Wellington had the most divine first day of spring, I’m so glad to be saying farewell to winter – it’s my least favourite month. I have oodles of ideas for all manner of projects, there’ll be no knitting hiatus for me.

I’ve received several patterns from overseas orders of late and my much desired and sort after Thorobred 206 was amongst them. I am over the moon, elated, totally thrilled, and still wearing my smile. I took a punt on a brushed wool Thorobred  pattern book at The Knitting Knitch, ordered it and there it was, smack bang in the middle pages. Amazing!

Now a decision has to be made about what yarn I’ll use – I think this pattern definitely lends itself to something brushed,  be it alpaca, brushed wool, possum, angora….hmm. I’m considering  brushed cerise by Rare Yarns but I’m a bit concerned about the matting/pilling factor.

Simone’s FO baby’s set – exquisite. This lovely set was made from a vintage pattern. It’s so cool that patterns can be timeless and continue to give pleasure through the decades and generations.

By now this trio will be winging its way to a new arrival in the UK. Simone is working hard on completing her jacket at the mo but is itching to start on her long awaited sock design.

Lee has never worked from a pattern before and prefers to make up her own inventions.  Her WIP at the moment is a snood, using up some yarn oddments.

Raewyn was going to finish off this cardigan but left the pattern at home…..

…….so instead Raewyn started on booties, they will match the leaf edged beanie she made a few weeks back. It’s a pity the digital reproduction does not show the true colour – this yarn is the most delectable butter yellow/lemon shade imaginable.

My WIP Ming Blue is rather frustrating. Even after doing a tension swatch and making compensations I’m not sure this project isn’t going to end in tears. Somehow it just doesn’t feel right and although I really want it to work I’m not convinced it will be so. I’ll keep working on it at the moment and see how it’s looking when I get onto the back.

iKnit is…..

If you enjoy knitting on your own you’ll love knitting in a group with other keen knitters – it’s so much fun and inspiring sharing the experience…so don’t stay at home and knit alone, come and check us out! (see Contact tab for details) 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “my Thorobred comes home!

  1. Hi Janet,
    I found an old Thorobred vest pattern I’d like to start. Found your interesting blog and discussion on their brushed wool yarn. Do you know how many meters or yards are in one skein?

  2. Just a quick note, The Thorobred Brushed Wool is more like the Cleckheaton Brushed Mohair found nowadays. I have a ball or 2 still in my stash and it is a fuzzy thin wool that knits to 8 ply gauge. I knitted a couple of garments in this years ago and loved them. The colours were awesome – vivid, rich tones

Leave a Reply

