My Pimpelliese

My Pimpelliese – I’m loving everything about it! The  lace border is worked together with the scarf and not afterward, yarn 100% merino 4ply hand dyed by James of J.O.Y, colour Flamingo. The 12 row pattern repeat is easy as.

While on holiday I finished Luke’s neck warmer/cowl (DK Patons Baby Merino), knit in the round. Pattern on Ravelry.

Cousteau Cowl

I’m told it does the trick keeping his neck toasty – closes all the gaps between his bike helmet and jacket, is less bulky and fussy than a scarf – in his words, “awesome”.

My WIP Sublime vest – once the last few rows of the front are complete I’ll be on the home stretch with the bands and roll neck remaining. I’m so looking forward to wearing this beauty – I’ve lived in my other one. This is a superb garment for winter layering. Yarn by The Wool Company – merino/possum, colour Old Rose.

I always try and check out local yarn/craft shops when away from home. I picked up the Victoria’s Vest pattern (The Rare Yarns Company) from  Crafters Heaven in Greytown. Notice how many ways the garment can be worn and it’s knit in one piece! The shop had the vest on display in the cerise coloured boucle alpaca/merino yarn which was gorgeous. I had to have one and the project’s been added to this years to-do list. Yarn sourced at Knit World Studio.

Wendy’s latest WIP – Guernsey style sweater – Patons book 1201. She’s using a sumptuous merino/possum/alpaca mix yarn from Skeinz, colour: Merino Blue.

Wendy’s row counting – neat as a pin.

Karen’s WIP – Baktus using Touch Yarns merino, fingers crossed for enough yarn, pattern on Ravelry.

Lindsay’s picked up her WIP circular shawl again mainly because she mislaid the yarn for a new project. She’s quite happy to chug along with the shawl in between quicker knits.  The above 3 pics show a real swing to blue, and no, I haven’t forgotten my Ming Blue project. I’ve abandoned the pattern though, the yarn just wasn’t right for the design and I’ve yet to find a preferable pattern.

Simone’s top-down jacket is almost done, she worked on the matching bootees this week.

Please help me find this pattern?

???

If you have a copy of this Thorobred pattern or know where I can obtain one, please contact me – I’d love to hear from you if you can help.

This pattern is featured in a booklet called Autumn Impressions: 6 new fashion patterns free from Thorobred (refer picture below),  a New Zealand publication circa 1980’s. As well as the 6 free patterns there is a variety of patterns highlighting different Thorobred yarns, the pattern above is the one I want. I’ve followed many leads to track down the pattern but to no avail. Some countries may refer to the brand as Thorobred Scheepjeswol. The company is no longer in business unfortunately.


5 thoughts on “My Pimpelliese

  1. I have the thorobred cardigan pattern. Please let me know if you are still interested, and I’ll find a way to get it to you

  2. Thorobred, the company, went out of business years and ago, patterns and yarn are available via auction sites like Trademe in NZ, and Ebay, and second hand pattern shops globally.

  3. Did you ever find any information about Thorobred? I’m desperately trying to find some Thorobred wool in the colour geranium. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

