multi hue – still feeling the love

Hardly taking time to draw breath after finishing the green lacey jersey, I went all out on the multi hue jacket for Ania.

I really love the colour themes of this yarn although I still prefer some merino in the mix. Merino seems to add a softness that I notice missing when it’s not there  (bamboo, silk, possum et al also add softness).

The  pattern –  Sirdar 1780 – was an easy pattern to follow and interesting with the combo of cables and edging and yoke in moss. Most of the patterns I buy I usually only ever knit once, this pattern though, I would definitely knit again.

It was uncanny how each bobble worked came out a different colour, how clever is that! Couldn’t have been better if I’d planned it.

All done 🙂

I think the combo of the multi colour yarn and the highly textured pattern works incredibly well, it gives lots of added interest.

On the model – back view.

Despite being high summer in NZ and a sweltering hot day, Ania indulged me and tried it on.

I like the 3 button closure instead of a button-through front, the collar gives a neat finish to the neckline. Ania’s 3 favourite colours at the mo are orange, yellow and green so I hope she’ll love wearing this stylie item – it was a pleasure to craft it for her.

I instantly loved this Drops pattern when I discovered it on the Garnstudio website last year. After toying with colours, pattern, and yarn to make a fair isle cardigan for myself  (a process percolating since last winter) and now finally decided, I wasted no time in casting on the 314 stitches required. I’m looking forward to almost no seams and using both circular and double-pointed needles. I’ve been aching to knit one of these classic beauties for yonks – I’m so happy 🙂 (if you’re following my blog you’ll be familiar with my fair isle journey).

I’m using Patons Patonyle 4 ply wool 80% / nylon 40% mix for the main, in  winter red.  I eyed it for this project and think it will be just fine. So far I’m impressed with the beginnings – the band is looking and feeling fabulous.

You’ll probably recognise this yarn from a garment I made last year, also another Drops pattern. I had a couple of balls over and thought this would be a striking second colour. Surprisingly, this fair isle calls for only 2 shades.

iKnit will be starting up for 2010 on Tuesday 2 March @7pm, same venue. Please come and join us if you’re looking for a knitting group and we’re in your locale. We’re a friendly bunch and new knitter’s are always welcome. Also, if you’ve just discovered knitting or have decided this is the year you must learn, we’d love to meet you too 🙂

For address / contact details -> to my contact page.

Leave a Reply

