World Of WearableArt…WOW ! !

Brenda knits

My friend Brenda knits……and she also attended the recently held WOW extravaganza in Welly. We were wowed as Brenda recounted some of the amazing parts of the show, they had the best of seats…..and she got a goody bag as well!  I’m so happy for her that she had the opportunity to experience this world class event. Every year I say I’ll go, maybe next year I will.

PA060054

As well as sharing good conversation we did do heaps of knitting. This section of Brenda’s jacket is the sleeve/top of the back section and with increasing the stitches will make the other sleeve. The remaining sections of the jacket are made by picking up stitches and knitting the sections…sounds complex but Brenda’s got her head round it.

Alice

As I said in my last entry, one of the many things I like about meeting up with other keen knitters is the opportunity to meet new people. This week Alice joined us and she’s knitting a baby’s cardy (Debbie Bliss). The pattern is crafted entirely in one piece as far as I could tell – another interesting project to follow.

PA060044

Alice also brought along another project to show us – a baby’s blanket in variegated yarn bought while travelling in Italy and in a mix of colours suitable for either a boy or girl.

PA060050

The baby’s blanket pattern is made up of off-set blocks of stocking stitch/garter stitch, nice.

PA060045

As I said good conversation – and having a laugh and a cuppa…..and all while we knit.

Wendy

My friend Wendy knits a lot…..her current project is a simply gorgeous 4 ply baby’s hat in the softest variegated tones, suitable for either a boy or girl. The hat is part of an outfit consisting of jersey and bootees as well and I’m encouraging her to knit the set because it’s so gorgeous.

PA060052

The pattern is extra nice with the addition of the lace panels and will be topped off with a pompom.

PA060053

I highly recommend this lovely pattern book – Patons Heirloom Collection book 1283 – available from the fabulous online dedicated knitting store The Yarn Queen. I have an earlier version of the book in which the models were baby girls and the garments were mainly pink, in this edition Patons have used boys in a white colourway. I’ve made several garments from the book and I can assure you they’re all stunners.

Leave a Reply

