My next project….a request

Luke's vestLuke’s requested a vest…..

What goes around comes around, as the saying goes and this certainly goes for this vest. I actually knitted it for Phil not long after we married (in my fair isle craze).

As the years passed it always escaped the clothes purge –  I just couldn’t bear to part with it. For the past 4 years it’s been hybernating in storage but got an airing again on Luke’s return from overseas.

This time, the instructions are to leave off the fair isle and keep it plain – no cables or texture either. Oh well…..that’ll mean a quick project and I’ll  get that new guys pattern book anyway. Colour…..still being decided with leanings to dark charcoal or chocolate.

The size and fit are perfect, and this is a good reminder of why holding on to patterns can be a good idea.  When I dug the pattern out, I realised I’d transposed the design from another fair isle garment. I’d forgotten that…..but then it was made over 20 years ago!

2 thoughts on “My next project….a request

  1. What a fabulous find! i love the vest as is! You are very talented. If i get stuck into knitting i may also borrow pattern?
    Lucky boys

  2. Ohh sounds pretty cool. You might have another request after you finish Luke’s vest. Can’t wait to see the finished product

Leave a Reply

