iKnit group is underway

First there was me then there was three!

We have begun. Though small in number, we had a thoroughly enjoyable dedicated knitting time away from other distractions (with the exception of chatting and a cuppa) . Wendy brought her knitting basket, overflowing with a 4 year old project almost forgotten. She dusted off the almost completed jacket for herself, worked out where she left the pattern and is re-energised to complete it. Go Wendy!

If we three are typical knitters, there must be many lounges out there with a corner devoted to a yarn stash begging to be crafted into lovely things. For Brenda, coming to iKnit meant deciding whether to dig into her stash or go shopping. She went with her stash (despite almost caving after looking through my patterns and discussing ideas) and combined two colours, a gentle lime green and cream DK, to knit a cute Peter Gregory baby jersey. Good call.

I came across an article a few weeks ago – ‘The Many Benefits of Knitting Circles’ by Lisa Akers, and think it’s worth a look.

Will remember to take a few pics next meet .

3 thoughts on “iKnit group is underway

  1. Hello there,

    I too would love to join a local knitting group! I am based in central Wellington and am looking for a group that meets in the evenings, as I have heard of a few but they all meet during the day. Look forward to hearing from you πŸ™‚ -Georgie

  2. Hi there,

    I’m keen to fibnd out about your knitting group. Can you tell me where in Wellington you’re based? I’d love to join a local group, although I do have an 18 month old who needs her ‘mummy milk’ before bed every night, so I wouldn’t be able to come along until around 7:30pm. Cheers, Ali

  3. My knitting passion has been reignited!! All I needed was that extra push to get going again, and what better way than with a group of people who share the passion. So I brought my basket of knitting along last Tuesday night (after blowing the dust off it) and surprised myself by being able to work out where I had left it about 4 years prior (hmmm it was possibly even longer than that!!). I got so inspired that I completed the sleeve that spent 4 years on the needle the following night. I’ve got one more sleeve to go and then I have a caridigan in the making πŸ™‚ So if you have that unfinished knitting collecting dust in the corner of your wardrobe, let it free and come and join us. It’s really enjoyable and I’m looking forward to the weeks to come to see what our work in progress turns out like.

Leave a Reply

